Hurricane Matthew Update

Hurricane Matthew Information Update

President Barack Obama declared a major disaster exists in the State of South Carolina, late Tuesday afternoon, and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in 13 counties most severely affected by Hurricane Matthew.

On October 10, Governor Haley formally requested a disaster declaration from the White House for Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Jasper, Marion, and Williamsburg counties.

As emergency managers assess the damage caused by Hurricane Matthew, FEMA could determine that additional counties are eligible to receive federal assistance.

The Internal Revenue Service is giving victims of Hurricane Matthew in North Carolina until March 15, 2017, to file certain individual and business tax returns and make certain tax payments. Similar relief is expected soon for Hurricane Matthew victims in other states.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.